Coronavirus, the European Union reopens borders to 15 countries, including China

Coronavirus, the European Union reopens borders to 15 countries, including China

© Provided by La Repubblica

End of the isolation of the European Union, go free to China but only in case of reciprocity, stop instead to the USA, Russia and Brazil. This was stated by the governments of the EU Member States which approved via written procedure the list of fifteen countries whose citizens will be authorized to travel to the EU starting tomorrow 1 July. The governments of the 27 have approved a list of countries whose epidemiological situation linked to Covid-19 is considered sufficiently safe. However, responsibility for reopening borders remains in the hands of each Member State and that of Brussels is only a guideline and not legally binding. Italy voted in favor of approving the list, while according to some sources Sweden and Poland would have abstained

The list of countries whose citizens are admitted to the EU and the Schengen area starting tomorrow includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. China is also on the list, but only on condition that Beijing accepts EU citizens in its territory. As expected on the eve of health conditions, the United States, the country most affected by the pandemic with 125,928 deaths for almost 2 , 6 million cases, are excluded from the list, which should be updated every two weeks.

According to Brussels, the citizens of Brazil, Russia, India, Turkey and Israel will not be able to reach Europe. The United Kingdom was not affected by the travel restrictions decided by the EU in March.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here