Foreign Affairs announces new countries accessible to Belgian travelers

Foreign Affairs announces new countries accessible to Belgian travelers

© Supplied by Belga

Foreign Affairs updated on Tuesday the list of countries where Belgian citizens are allowed to go for non-essential trips, and under what conditions. Among the list of 31 “EU +” countries (Schengen, United Kingdom, European Union), 20 are in “green” code, seven in “orange” and four are still inaccessible.

Travel advice for each destination can be found on the Foreign Affairs website: Travelers are also invited to register, as the situation can change rapidly as the deconfinement takes place.

Austria, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Latvia, Croatia, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Estonia, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic and Slovenia are the countries that welcome Belgians without special conditions.

Seven “orange” countries still impose restrictions on Belgians, who are invited to read travel notices published on the Foreign Affairs website. These are Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Portugal and Spain. An interministerial health committee is meeting this Tuesday evening to discuss the measures to be applied to Belgians returning from risk areas, before a concertation committee on Wednesday morning.

Finland, Ireland, Malta and Norway do not yet accept Belgians on their territory.

In addition, the kern decided Monday not to further expand this list of 31 countries to the 14 (15 with China) countries authorized by the European Union. These countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and l ‘Uruguay. “Celeveal estimated that eight (Serbia, Thailand, Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Georgia, Montenegro and Rwanda) presented health risks. There was a red light. It was therefore decided to exclude them. As for the six countries ( Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Uruguay) considered as safe by Celeval, they were not retained for lack of reciprocity “, detail Foreign Affairs.

As the situation changes in each country, there may be changes over the next few days.

“I invite all Belgians who wish to go abroad to consult the foreign affairs website where they can find all the useful information. I also invite them to register on the Foreign Affairs travel website”, concludes the minister responsible Philippe Goffin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here