Ready to set your watch? Summer time is over

 Ready to set your watch? Summer time is over

Goodbye to daylight saving time? Yes, winter time will begin in Mexico on Sunday, October 25, and we must turn the clock back one hour.

© Cuartoscuro Agency

Although the official change will occur at 02:00 in the morning of Sunday 25, it is recommended turn back the clock from saturday night, before going to sleep.

Summer time in the national territory (except for the 33 municipalities on the border with the United States) began on Sunday, April 5 and will end on October 25.

The new schedule with one hour back will end until April 4, 2021 (it will last almost half a year).

This change was established in 1996, during the government of Ernesto Zedillo, through a decree, with the aim of saving electricity through a better use of natural light.

For tourist and economic reasons, Sonora and Quintana Roo do not participate in the time changes that are made in summer and winter.

There are 33 border municipalities that should not change their schedule this day either since they usually apply the change a few weeks before the rest of the country because they are synchronized with the United States time change.

These municipalities apply summer time from the second Sunday in March and end it on the first Sunday in November, and are:

-Tijuana, Mexicali, Ensenada, Playa Rosarito and Tecate, in Baja California.

-Juárez, Ojinaga, Ascención, Coyame del Sotol, Guadalupe, Janos, Manuel Benavides and Praxedis G. Guerrero, in Chihuahua.

-Acuña, Piedras Negras, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jiménez, Zaragoza, Nava and Ocampo, in Coahuila.

-Anáhuac and Los Aldama, in Nuevo León.

-Nuevo Laredo, Reynosa, Matamoros, Camargo, Guerrero, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Río Bravo and Valle Hermoso, in Tamaulipas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here