Wayne Taylor Racing repeats in Petit Le Mans

Wayne Taylor Racing repeats in Petit Le Mans

Wayne Taylor Racing repeats in Petit Le Mans (FOTO: Richard Prince / Cadillac)

© Provided by Fast Mag
Wayne Taylor Racing repeats in Petit Le Mans (FOTO: Richard Prince / Cadillac)

Wayne Taylor Racing won the 10 Hours of Petit Le Mans for the second time in three years, benefiting from the incident between the prototypes of Team Penske y Whelen Engineering.

Following a full-throttle chase for the past two hours, the intensity picked up in the final minutes of the event, with the No. 7 Acura and No. 31 Cadillac dominating. There, Ricky Taylor y Pipo Derani They were the protagonists of a very intense fight for the leadership, in which their respective teammates took very competitive turns.

Taylor beat Derani out of the pits in his last refuel, but the Brazilian, with a superb pass in Turn 1, snatched the lead with 34 minutes remaining.

The American pursued him incessantly until, with 11 minutes to go before the checkered flag, taking advantage of the presence of traffic, he tried to overcome it when he reached Turn 6. Derani closed the door as much as he could, but contact was inevitable and the two prototypes ended up on gravel.

This opened the door for Renger Van der Zande to take the lead and, although Taylor returned immediately and barely fell to second, hold it until the end, as an incident of Laurens Vanthoor on restart he forced the event to end behind the Safety Car.

Van der Zande, together with Scott Dixon y Ryan Briscoe, they led enough to give Taylor his third overall victory at Petit Le Mans (2014 and 2018).

Taylor, Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi settled for second place, ahead of Penske No. 6 in Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron and Simon Pagenaud, who survived a contact with an LMP2 in the middle part of the route.

Derani, Felipe Nasr and Filipe Albuquerque they finished fifth, two laps behind.

Mazda had a race to be forgotten, as the No. 55 had a brake failure and the No. 77 collided with the wall, product of a contact with the Ferrari No. 63 of Weather in Scuderia Corsa. Both prototypes yielded nearly 20 laps for repairs.

Tower / Starworks No. 8, featuring John Farano, Mikkel Jensen y Job van Uitert, it won the LMP2 class, benefiting from the vicissitudes of its three other rivals, especially the PR1-Mathiasen No. 52, which suffered a suspension failure.

Despite Porsche booked its first win of the campaign in the GTLM class, with Nick Tandy, Fred Makowiecki y Matt Campbell crossing the finish line in first with his model 911 No. 911.

Before the last chain, they kept their lead against the No. 3 Corvette of Antonio García, Jordan Taylor and Nick Catsburg. He No. 24 BMW Team RLL, who dominated part of the evening stage, completed the podium.

The No. 63 Ferrari won the GTD honors, through Alessandro Balzan, Cooper MacNeil y Jeff Westphal, while the championship-leading Meyer Shank Racing No. 86 Acura suffered a suspension problem with three hours remaining.

The entrance Wayne Taylor Racing repeats in Petit Le Mans was first published in FASTmag.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here