Germany tightens entry rules from corona hot spots

Germany tightens entry rules from corona hot spots

Controls at the borders are being tightened

© WHAT (dpa)
Controls at the borders are being tightened

For more than 20 countries with particularly high numbers of corona infections, stricter rules have been in place when entering Germany since midnight. These high-risk areas include the neighboring country of the Czech Republic, the holiday countries Portugal, Spain and Egypt as well as the USA. Anyone wishing to enter from there must be able to show a negative corona test (PCR test) at the border. Meanwhile, covid restrictions are taking effect in some parts of Italy.

According to the German Interior Ministry, the tests are systematically checked at the airports and seaports. In the border areas with other EU countries and Switzerland, travelers are to be checked randomly and independently of suspicion. So far, the German government had differentiated between areas with particularly infectious virus variants and “normal” risk areas when entering the country. Since Sunday at midnight there are three categories with different test and quarantine rules:

– “Normal” risk areas: These are countries or regions above a limit value (also known as the incidence value) of 50 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the past seven days. This currently applies to almost all of Europe with the exception of individual areas in Greece, Finland, Norway, Austria and Denmark. Worldwide, more than 130 of almost 200 countries are wholly or partially “normal” risk areas.

– High incidence areas: These are countries with significantly higher numbers of infections than in Germany. This usually includes countries with an incidence value of over 200 (incidence in Germany: 115). However, other countries can also be declared high incidence areas under this brand under certain conditions. In addition to the countries already mentioned, Albania, Andorra, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Estonia, Iran, Israel and the Palestinian Territories, Colombia, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Panama, Serbia, Slovenia fall into this category and the United Arab Emirates.

– Virus variant areas: These are areas in which highly contagious variants of the coronavirus have occurred. So far, the UK, Ireland, South Africa and Brazil fall into this category.

Travelers from “normal” risk areas must be tested for Corona no later than 48 hours after entering Germany. They also have to be in quarantine for ten days, but can be freed from it prematurely by a second negative test from day five. The difference between the high-incidence and virus variant areas is that a test is compulsory no more than 48 hours before entry. In addition, there are fewer quarantine exceptions for the areas with increased risk. But that is regulated by the individual federal states. When entering from countries in all three categories, you must also register online at before entering the country.

After the corona numbers fell slightly, easing the Covid restrictions will come into force in some parts of Italy. The economically strong Lombardy with its around ten million inhabitants has not been a red zone with strict exit bans since Sunday, but has been lowered a risk level – to orange. Many shops are allowed to reopen there. Health Minister Roberto Speranza signed the decree on Saturday in Rome. Sicily and the autonomous province of Bolzano (South Tyrol) remain red high-risk areas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here